Demystifying Cold Weather Payments

A Cold Weather Payment is money to help with fuel costs during periods of very cold weather.

With Cold Weather Payments, you will receive a payment if the average temperature in your area is recorded as, or forecast to be, below zero degrees Celsius for 7 days in a row.

You’ll get £25 for each 7-day stretch of severely cold weather between 1st November and 31st March within 14 working days of the cold weather stretch.

You may qualify for a Cold Weather Payment if you are receiving certain benefits.

Some benefits that entitle you to Cold Weather Payments are:

  1. Pension Credit

You can receive Cold Weather Payments if you receive Pension Credit.

To discover more about Pension Credit, please use the following link: https://www.gov.uk/pension-credit

  1. Income Support and Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance

You can receive Cold Weather Payments if you receive Income Support or Income-based Jobseekers Allowance.

For more information on Income Support, please visit the following link: https://www.gov.uk/income-support.

For more support with Income-based Jobseekers Allowance, please visit the following link: https://www.gov.uk/jobseekers-allowance.

You’ll also be entitled to Cold Weather Payments if you receive Income Support or Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance and have any of the following:

  • A disability or pensioner premium.
  • A child, who is disabled.
  • Child Tax Credit, which includes a disability or severe disability element. For more information on Child Tax Credit, please visit https://www.gov.uk/child-tax-credit
  • A child aged under 5, who is living with you.
  1. Income-related Employment and Support Allowance (ESA)

You can receive Cold Weather Payments if you receive Income-related ESA.

For more information on ESA, please visit: https://www.gov.uk/employment-support-allowance/what-youll-get

You’ll be eligible for Cold Weather Payments if you receive ESA and any of the following points apply to you:

  • You have a severe or enhanced disability premium.
  • You have a pensioner premium.
  • You have a child, who is disabled.
  • You receive Child Tax Credit, which includes a disability or severe disability element. For more information on Child Tax Credit, please visit: https://www.gov.uk/child-tax-credit
  • You have a child aged under 5, who is living with you.
  1. Universal Credit

You can receive Cold Weather Payments if you receive Universal Credit and are unemployed or self-employed.

For more information on Universal Credit, please visit: https://www.gov.uk/universal-credit

One of the following points must also be applicable to you for you to receive this payment:

  • You receive a limited capability for work amount (with or without a work-related activity amount).                
  • You receive the disabled child amount as part of your claim.
  • You have a child aged under 5, who is living with you.

You’ll be eligible if you have a disabled child amount as part of your claim, if you are employed or not.

Cold Weather Payments will not affect your other benefits.

How to claim

You don’t need to apply. If you’re eligible for Cold Weather Payments, you’ll be paid automatically.

For more information on Cold Weather Payments, please visit the following link: https://www.gov.uk/cold-weather-payment/eligibility

For further support with Cold Weather Payments and any other benefits, please contact the Core Services team on 0845 241 2173 or contact@metabolicsupportuk.org